Reviews

Accolades

& Reviews


Reviews from our visitors and the wine industry.

Wine Industry

Reviews

LIST OF ACCOLADES:

DOUBLE GOLD – CWSA HONG KONG: Sauvignon Blanc 2012
DOUBLE GOLD – CWSA HONG KONG: Oh! Chardonnay 2011
GOLD – CWSA HONG KONG: Chardonnay 2013

GOLD – CWSA HONG KONG: First Quantum  2011
SILVER – IWSA UK: Sauvignon Blanc 2010
SILVER – IWSA UK: Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
SILVER – OLD MUTUAL AWARDS: Sauvignon Blanc 2012
SILVER – MICHELANGELO AWARDS: Oh! Chardonnay 2011


Oneiric Sauvignon Blanc: Outstanding 92+ points

“For a relatively new producer in Elgin, Oneiric is certainly making waves, in a very positive way, as previously reviewed, I believe their Cabernet Sauvignon have all the hallmarks to be amongst South Africa’s best, we just need to see upcoming vintages how they fared and if they will maintain the very high standards, here is another revelations, this is an OUTSTANDING Sauvignon, and since I reviewed all samples blind, I was convinced this was a 2013 vintage, to my surprise this is a 4+ years old wine, which shows no sign of wrinkles, yes I have tasted numerous Sauvignon from Elgin, from established producers in the valley, but none have shown such concentration and purity and stamina as pristinely preserved, at this age, wow, seek it out it is super table friendly, a true pur sang.”

92+

Alcohol: ideal | 12.5%abv
Notes: lime | figs | passion fruit | blackcurrant leaf |spicy
Ideal drinking occasions: Anytime
Drink: now until 2016+

Miguel Chan: April 2014: http://miguelchanwinejournal.blogspot.com/2014/04/oneiric-sauvignon-blanc-2010-92-points.html


“Tasting the Eclectic Copper range of wines of Oneiric Wines with Shan Pascall. World Class!! Watch this space of where you’ll find it ,a true reflection of passion , dedication and gutspa. Niels Verburg you’ve out done yourself again !!”

Ryan Du Plessis: August 2015


“Just tasted some exciting new wines from #Elgin by @OneiricWines the Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay & Cabernet Sauvignon are EXCEPTIONAL!!”

Jeff Lopes: Feb 2014


“The Oneiric was in great nick for a wine with some age on it. Made by Jean Smit now of Boekenhoutskloof, it showed blossom on the nose and lime through peach plus a hint of spice on the palate. Really subtle with a pithy finish. Score: 91/100

Christian Eedes: Nov 2013: http://mnemonic.co.za/winemag/elgin-white-wine- retrospective/


“YOUR CHARDONNAY IS STUNNING!!”

Mark Norrish, Ultra Liquors: April 2014


“Oneiric wines is the Shangri-La of Elgin. 360 degree views and a Sauvignon Blanc and Cab you would swop your children for.”

David Bullard: Jan 2014


Oh! Chardonnay
Among the top silvers, the Oneiric “Oh” 2012, with its white fruit and citrus nuances, was probably the best value bottle at the tasting.”

Micheal Fridjhon: November 2014: http://www.bdlive.co.za/opinion/columnists/ 2014/11/28/wine-sas-white-wines-are-not-inferior


Oneiric Elgin Cabernet Sauvignon – Amongst SA’s best : 92 Points

Ruby red with slight purple rim.
Clean, high intensity for a Cabernet, perfume, with captivating blackcurrant, cassis and blueberry, well defined ripeness with excellent purity of fruit, slight herbal note, typical of the variety, but not green, peppery, earthy stony minerals, generous oaking,

probably a high percentage of new French oak, lending cedar wood, graphite and lead pencil complexity.

Dry with savoury medium plus acidity, lively, energetic, textured mid palate with long and persistent blackcurrant and cassis, black olive note, essence of Cabernet, concentrated yet not overdone, moderate plus ripe tannin, plush, just the perfect grip and extraction, juicy, well judged moderate plus alcohol of 13.5% abv for such a flavourful wine, oak evident but well integrated, spicy vanilla, cigar complexity. Smart wine!

TO DATE THE MOST EXCITING NEW GENERATION ELGIN CABERNET

RELEASE, what differentiate this Cabernet Sauvignon from other well established predominantly Stellenbosch benchmark producer is its INVIGORATING FRESHNESS and sheer drinkability, this wine will do well with a broad variety of food pairings, table friendly! Now until 2022”

Miguel Chan: Feb 2013: http://miguelchanwinejournal.blogspot.com/2013/02/oneiric- elgin-cabernet-sauvignon-2009.html


Oneiric Shiraz, Cabernet and Bordeaux Blend

“One piece of good news is Oneiric, a new producer in the valley. The name refers to dreams and this is a wet dream in red velvet pants. The three wines tastes: a Shiraz, Cabernet and Bordeaux blend have a delicious berry-dense character. They are dreams from the bed of Mexican film director Guillermo del Toro whose Pan’s Labyrinth could have been filmed in Elgin. These are wines of character and well worth waking up for.

The biggest surprise of the tasting is the leaps and bounds taken by Shiraz from the valley. Elgin has an unbeatable USP of minerality without greenness. Although

minerality is a red flag to a bowtie or anorak, Elgin Shiraz are a potent antidote to those big and booming numbers from the Swartland. Where is the retail Paladin to take a six pack of Next Level Shiraz to Strubens Valley? Three from the Swartland and three from Elgin so the sinuous charms of pink lady Shiraz grown in a cool climate can compete with the wet T-shirt appeal of the May Wests from Riebeek Wes. A raunchy knock-down and drag-out affair that will make the Swartland Revolution look like a Roedean tea party.”

Neil Pendock – August 2013 – http://neilpendock.com/pink-ladies-or-pinot-noir/


Oneiric Chardonnay 2010 : “Developed aromas. Smokey and showy with cherry butterscotch notes counter balanced with light citrus whiffs. Evolved but not fading. Fashionable and fun. A wine to impress your boss. An elegant wine.”

Michael Fridjhon: 2014

Visitor

Reviews

 

“Congrats on making wines that compete with the best and surpass the regular wines. Well done!”
Antoinette Nel


“I don’t know how I will enjoy a meal now without Oneiric! Exceptional wines. Wonderful discovery.”
Ingrid Avidon


“Enjoying a delicious bottle of Chardonnay! The wine that changed my opinion about Chardonnay!”
Victoria Stander


“We are avoiding Oneiric wine tastings because we can’t resist walking away with at least 4 cases of it”
Andrew Bizzell


“Hi Shan, lovely meeting on Thursday night. Busy enjoying the Sav tonight. I hope you getting loads of exposure tonight, your wines certainly deserve it. If you ever back in Durban and got time to kill, look us up.”
David Bekker


“Love your Sauvignon Blanc.”
Carla van der Merwe


“We had a splendid time at the Cool Wine & Country Festival! Thank you for showing us your place in the sun!”
Francis Wheeler


“Best olive oil I have ever tasted”
Marlene Reimers


“It is beautiful here”
Lou Anne


“In love with my Cousin Jack… Seriously, a VERY GOOD wine from Oneiric Wines”
Vanessa Haywood


“Oneric wine farm is a place of tranquility and beauty, add that to the hospitality of the Pascall family and you already have a winning combination without even mentioning their extraordinary wines. In Cape Town I always say that people judge you not on the car you drive but on the wine you bring to dinner – Oneric wines are the equivalent of a Bentley”
Maya Fisher-French


“Take the opportunity to immerse yourself in the warmth and passion of the Oneiric family wine estate whilst savouring each mouthful of their delicately robust wines.”
Gail Blacher


“A dream of a view with generous mouthfuls of heavenly wine make for a sublime experience!!”
Judy Christie


“I arrived at Oneiric and the first chapter of my novel was written”
Lyn Jones


“When are we getting these great wines in the states?”
Tim Edwards


“Beautiful landscape!!! It’s like a postcard. Love it!!!
Anna Bassa Sannabra


“Hi Shan, just want to say thanks for a lovely afternoon on your family’s wine farm. It is really a special place and we enjoyed every second. As you can see on the pictures below, Pinot did enjoy himself as well. Hope to see you soon. Best”
Wolfgang & Kandice


“I was speaking with a colleague of mine who loves her wine and we got chatting about Oneiric. She says, “oh wow, that’s my very favourite wine estate. Their chardonnay is absolutely fantastic!!”
Charlotte Middleton


“Excellent lunch at Oneiric Wines yesterday”
David Bullard


“What a happy space and wonderful people”
Natalie Clarke


“We’ve come across Oneiric everywhere! Had dinner at Bistro Michel and the maître d’ raved about your Quantum collection which we had and loved. And then at the Saxon 500 we were served your delicious Chardonnay! Well done Shan you’re doing a wonderful marketing job for your divine wines!”
Nicola Aylward


“Stunning picnic at Oneiric wine estate in Elgin! So much food – all delicious and Banting friendly (on request) complimented by super yummy Oneiric Chardonnay! Stocked up my wine “cellar”. What a wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon! Thanks Shan Pascall and indeed the fantastic food and hospitality provided by Matt and Jennifer Pascall. Definitely worth a visit”.
Leanne Born


“Best olive oil I have tasted in a long long long time.”
Lois Wilson


“Congratulations!! We have thoroughly enjoyed our visit and your wines are great!!”
Carol Downes


“Lovely wines! Great discovery!”
Eva & Jonathan


“Just to let you know that I got to taste your beautiful wine through a dear friend and teacher of my two daughters. She very kindly gave me a bottle of Cousin Jack to try the other day. I absolutely loved it thus the order for myself and to give to our clients. Many thanks”
Tammy Rankin


“Thank you so very much for an outstanding wine tasting yesterday. We had a fabulous day. We loved your presentation , the stories and the laughter. The wines, both white and red, are superb, there is not one that we did not like. It was interesting to learn about the ageing potential of white wines. We have occasionally found an “older “ white wine in our collection and thought we were just lucky that it still tasted so good, now we know why. None of us knew that Chardonnay grapes have little or no flavour so now we understand why they are usually wooded. We love the link with copper, it adds an extradimension to the experience. Not only that, it is embedded in the earth of Africa just like cousin Jack!

Thank you Jennifer for the delicious lunch. All the ladies want the recipes if you are willing to part with them ? Please let us know if you ever publish a cook book. Your olive oil is amazing (could have gobbled it all up!)

Thank you for letting us go down to the picnic area which is very special. It was a beautiful walk with flowers along the way and something new unfolding round each bend. The silence broken only by the purling of the water and the soughing of the wind in the trees. We were in awe of it all.

Everyone said that is was a really special day. We all seem to have had an “oneiric” experience in the Elgin valley. You really have a magical place and we are grateful to you for sharing it with us.

With much appreciation”
Tessa , Jeff and Corkers wine club members